Visiting museums is the best way to learn about a country

The perception of travelling among people is changing vastly. Increasing tourists are starting to make their travellings into a cultural experience and a chance to understand another civilisation. The museum visit has become irreplaceable in most travel plans. In contrast, based on my experiences, I do not believe that visiting museums always do help to understand a country. I feel this way for two reasons, which this essay will explore.

To begin with, I have to say that some museums involved the theme of the exhibition with too many subjective ideologies, which may affect our objective judgements. Museums may attempt to deliver a specific impression to visitors by making the content on display selectively. I think it is fair to say that in most cases, people tend to hide their dark side of history and only present what looks perfect and flawless to gain a better reputation. For instance, the Yasukuni Shrine was primarily built for memorising soldiers who died for Japan by order of the Meiji Emperor. Its military museum, called Yushukan Museum, is under considerable controversy for alternating Japan's history during World War II. The museum's exhibition is mainly about weapons that Imperial Japan Military developed during the war and depicting the braveness and fearless of fascist soldiers. The museum claims that Japan was "forced" to start the war by the US and describe the invasion to most Asia countries as bringing liberations, which is unacceptable for the people from countries Japan was invaded and frequently accused by organisations who call for peace.

Furthermore, some people are easily bored of repeating types of items on display. There is no question that a particular kind of art or culture is critically imperative to a country and take a significant proportion in its history. Undoubtingly, those decisive cultures always take the most prominent part in a museum. However, for the people who do not correlate with that culture or are not interested in it, this can be unattractive or even tiring to see it. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. I am a person who does not into any religious belief and develops no interest in Buddhism culture at all, which resulted that my visit to Tokyo National Museum was a disaster for me--the displaying items were mostly religious tools and Buddhist sculptures. I love Japanese culture, and I know Buddhism is vital to Japan. However, I have to say that most people start their impression of Japan from tea, Sakura, or Ninja, but the museum in Japan may not be their cups of tea.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that visiting museums may not be the best way we learn about a country in every situation. This is because some museums do not hold an objective attitude to view the history, and the theme in some museums may not be easy for all visitors to find any correlations.