We should be honest with our friend

Throughout history, human beings have been always looking for some honest friends on whom they can rely. Although there is a widespread consensus on the issue that honesty is the most significant characteristics of two close friends, people occasionally have to neglect this important fact. A plethora of people believe that friends should remain honest under different situations, but I, to a great extent, support the opposing perspective since I think people have to neglect moral principles like honesty in some special situations. My reasons are manifold, among which the most conspicuous ones are substantiated in the following paragraphs.

To commence with, the first exquisite point to be mentioned is that almost all relations encounter difficulties after some years. For this reason, individuals may be placed in a cumbersome situation in which they cannot find any other solution except telling a lie in order to maintain their relationship. To clarify, consider two persons, intimate friends, having a long lasting friendship. When one of them make a mistake in which he even does not hurt the other one, but he is unwilling to tell the truth since it is a private matter, he most probably makes his attempt to hide the fact from his friend. Therefore, he cannot be honest as always, on the grounds that he feel uneasy about stating the truth.

Beyond a shadow of a doubt, people's reaction in many cases may differ based on the occasion. In other words, ones act differently when they face various conditions. If a person is honest, he should tell the fact completely. Therefore, it may bring about some unexpected consequences at a later time such as emotional hurts, for it is plausible that people are shocked while they face an unexpected happening. For instance, some years ago, I had to tell one of my best friend a painful news about his parents' accident. Under this circumstance, I distorted the story in order to make the situation less terrible since I knew telling the truth may hurt his feeling. Therefore, I told the fact after some time when I understood he was prepared for listening the true story.

To sum up, considering the aforementioned arguments, we may draw the conclusion that although at first blush being honest seems to be inevitable part of friendship, in some situation it cannot be helped, and we have to tell a white lie. Not only does it contributes to keeping our relations, but it also prevents causing numerous difficulties. However, it is highly recommended that individuals put their efforts to be honest as much as possible, but they should also consider other aspects of telling the truth.