What are the important qualities of a good son or daughter? Have these qualities changed or remained the same over time in our culture? Use specific reasons to support your answer.

The most expected qualities in a child, in my opinion, are obedience, understandable and loyalty. Even though the way of parenting and the relationship between parents and their kids have changed over the years those three attributes are still wanted nowadays.

A child doesn’t know what is best for him; he doesn’t have any experience and knowledge to make his own decision, and that when comes respect. Parents are there to guide us, to teach us what is good and bad, what is right or wrong. And that is why we need to obey them; they are interested in our own good.

We need also to understand our parents. For us maybe their decisions must not be what we want, but for sure they are for our best comfort. As an example, I can share a private situation in my life. Ten years ago my mom decided that I should study high school in a foreign country. At first, I didn’t accept her decision, and in fact, I stopped talking to her for a while because of that reason. Nevertheless, she sent me to Germany and there I stayed for an all year. Today, I can see clearly how much this year abroad opened my mind, how much I learned from it, and how much this helped me in the further years. So, we must always understand our parent’s decisions, they may be reaching much further away than our young eyes can see.

At last, but not less important comes loyalty. A child must be truthful and loyal to their parents because trust is the base for a relationship. We start to understand the importance of being truthful when we get older, and we realize we are going to expect the same from our children. But when we were a teenager we were always afraid of telling some mistakes we have made, even though it could be discovered from our parents and resulting in punishment. The way of parenting have changed with time, in the past, parents used to be more strict and severe, with physical punishment for lies and bad behavior. Nowadays this kind of topics is treated in other ways like lessons and talks, making the child to comprehend why what he did was wrong and to not do it again because he understood and not because he was afraid of punishment.

In conclusion, even with all these changes, parents still expect the three qualities above from their children.