The expression “never, never give up” means to keep trying and never stop working for your goals. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The key to success is hard work indeed. My all life I had a five years plan, which means, I have a goal for the next five years and I know exactly where I want to be.

Five years ago I decided that I wanted to live in Europe. I come from Brazil, and at the moment we have a political and economic crisis there. As I am still young I knew I had to do something about it to change my life. So I started thinking about how I could get here, and what options did I have. As a Brazilian, either I get the European visa through work or having the EU citizenship. Finding work as a foreigner is a really hard task, since the European Union has it rules to protect the EU citizens when it comes to work, that means, the company needs to prove that there is no candidate better than me in the all EU to hire me. So I decided to go to the citizenship option. I knew I had some really far Italian relative, and I decided to dig out all the documents and go for it.

At first, people thought I was crazy because it was too much work and too much money as well. To get the citizenship people to need to expend between 6-10 thousand euros nowadays, and that is a lot of money. But it was my dream so I decided to go for it.

After two years of hard work searching for documents, calling Italy every day to locate my dead relative, making searches at cemeteries to build the genealogy tree, contacting far relatives and document administrator’s offices in Brazil, I finally got the all documentation together and I could apply for the citizenship. And now I am exactly where I expected to be five years ago, here in Europe.

That is why I can assure that this sentence is completely true, “never give up”, eventually all your hard work is going to pay you back like happened to me.