What are the important qualities of a good son or daughter? Have these qualities changed or remained the same over time in your culture? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is my firm belief that responsibility and compassion are the two main crucial qualities of a good daughter or son. I believe this for a number of reasons which I will develop in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, a son or a daughter should have a sense of responsibility. They should not be feckless and lack seriousness towards things. They should be aware of their duties. Also, I think that those sons and daughters who are more responsible, are the ones who tend to take care of their old parents in the future. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has profoundly been influenced by a personal example. My grandparents have two sons and two daughters. They say that my mother and aunt are the most responsible amongst their children. Their sons were irresponsible so they never cared about them or the family and it is my mother and aunt who helped them survive. This example also, suggests that daughters are more responsible than sons. Nowadays, many people in our culture say that more girls than boys take care of their parents. Thus, suggesting that girls are more responsible children to their parents than boys.

Secondly, I think that compassion is another important characteristic of a good son or a daughter. This is because if they couldn’t empathize with the feelings of others, they will become more self and self-centered. A quality that can make them abandon their siblings and parents. Sons and daughters who are selfish only think for themselves. They do not understand compromise. They are willing to get what they want without even thinking about the repercussions or the situations. Drawing my personal example, my aunt has two daughters. The elder one is very understanding and calm while the other one is very self-centered. Both the sisters once participated in a drawing competition. The younger sister destroyed her sister’s painting even without thinking twice. She chooses her personal gain in a simple competition over her sister’s feelings. She is in general known to exhibit this kind of behavior with everyone even with her mother too.

In light of the reasons mentioned above, I strongly believe that compassion and responsibility are two main important characteristics of a good son and daughter.