What are the important qualities of a good son or daughter? Have these qualities

changed or remained the same over time in your culture? Use specific

reasons and examples to support your answer.

Family is probably the important step in children’s development as social creatures. In family kids learn how to behave thanks to their parents that shape their son/daughter’s moral compass. The establishment of the qualities considered generally good to have, is also installed in family. In my opinion, a good son/daughter needs to have at least respect, loyalty, and compassion.

To begin with, if a parents did a good job during their parenthood, it is important for the children to respect their parents and to be loyal to them. After all, our parents are those that had sleepless nights while making sure we have a shelter, food, and other commodities. They are those that sent us to school to acquire knowledge, that helped us financially and emotionally to go to college and achieve success. If there are any people I can address to anytime, those are my parents. They selflessly will give the emotional support or the advice I need. I think we owe them at least some respect. Drawing from my own experience, my dad was such a parent. When I was three years old, he used to work abroad, thousands of kilometres away from his family, so that me and my brother would have some clothes to wear when going to school. Moreover, because of this job he had numerous scars and has been in some grave accidents, but he never thought of leaving. “How my kids will survive?”, he used to say. For this reason, as their children, respecting our parents has not changed over time in my culture. It is just more acceptable to stop respecting your parents if they generally did not do a great job while parenting.

Secondly, I think a good daughter/son needs to have lots of compassion, not just for his/her parents, but for everybody, especially for those in need. I hope that I am going to educate an empathic person that will make the difference in this cruel world, and that will, hopefully, try to reduce the misery we live in, by promoting only the good values. Unlike respect, this value is new in my culture. In the old times, parents used not to care so much about what their children thought or how they are feeling. The parents needed their kids to be pragmatic, telling us that this is the only way to achieve success in the society. Fortunately, the new generation of parents, whose feelings were violated in the past, don’t make the same mistakes as their fathers and mothers. It’s certainly clear to see why kids need to learn how to be compassionate.

In conclusion, compassion, respect, and loyalty are the characteristics of a good offspring I will be proud of.