Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible.

Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these

situations do you think is better?

There is no shortage of opinion on what is better for young adults: to live with their families for a longer time or apart from them. In my opinion, living apart from their parents is better for the young, as it will help them to become more responsible and independent, thus introducing them to adulthood. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will elaborate on in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, living apart is the first step to the independence that the young adults always wish for. When you live on your own or with some peer roommate, your parents are not there for you. Therefore, you begin to take care of yourself by doing the cooking, the cleaning, by managing your finances, everything on your own. You either pursue your further education studies, or you start working and making the necessary decisions. There is nobody to control you, and with time, you accept your new responsibilities, and thus, become more mature. Drawing from my experience, I can say that moving out from my parents was definitely the right move in order to gain some independence. For the first time I started taking my own decisions, as well as accepting the consequences. In order to survive, I learned how to cook, how to sew and how to change a screw when needed. For this reason, I think that young people should move out of their parents’ house.

Secondly, there is no better way to get out of your comfort zone than moving out. In your new environment, you can become whoever you always wanted to be. You start making new friends and meeting new people that you did not have the occasion to meet before. Moreover, you become more socially adapted. My friend’s experience is a perfect example for this. When he was living with his family, he used to be shy and had social anxiety. His parents always told him he was a failure. When we finally agreed to move in a new flat together, his life changed drastically. He became a new person, in a better way. All thanks to the fact that he escaped from his parents’ surveillance and their toxic behavior. It’s certainly clear to see why some people decide to leave their family houses as soon as they turn the legal age to do so.

In conclusion, I think it is better for the young adults to move out of their parents’ houses if they want to become more independent or if they want to get out of their comfort zone and become the best version of themselves.