If you could ask a famous person one question, what would you ask? Why?

Use specific reasons and details to support your choice.

Nowadays, many people wish they could become famous and often this is their biggest dream. It does not really matter to them by what means they will achieve their goal: maybe become an actor, a musician, a TV showrunner, an abstractionist artist, a journalist, or a politician. I often hear celebrities complaining that being famous is not exactly what it seems to be. Therefore, if I could ask them one question, I would ask: “How the publicity has influenced your life?”.

To begin with, being a celebrity implies that there are many advantages and disadvantages. Besides the most obvious ones, such as the lack of privacy or the constant run away from paparazzi, there might be some indirect consequences that the publicity highlights, from shopping for free to receiving death threats because you said something someone else did not appreciate. Each their step, move, and silly smile is watched and analyzed by millions of curious people. Journalists tend to exaggerate every said word during an interview and because of their influence, other people do not understand that celebrities are still people, with families, problems, and opinion they will stick with. To exemplify, Joan Rolling, the famous writer of Harry Potter, nowadays is being bullied and “cancelled” because some people did not like a message written by her on Twitter. If someone else not so famous had written that, nobody would have observed or even disagreed so intensely with that person. This is the reason I would like to know how influencers deal with their popularity, as well as what are the pluses and minuses.

Secondly, I would be interested to know if the overall experience is worth it. Some people like to drag attention upon them, while others wish their life remained private. Many famous people became famous not on their will and now the fact they are recognized on street is ruining their life. In other words, they wish they never got famous. One of my close friends became famous overnight in our country. It’s not comparable to the Hollywood stars, but anyway, she complained that the attention she receives is intimidating and that since that video she was involved in, she avoids getting in a public place.

In conclusion, I’d like to know if the advantages of having a public life exceed the discomfort this lifestyle creates.