People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

The capitalist economy is based on the flow of money from one pocket to the other. In order to make money, most people have a job that guarantees them the flow of cash into their wallets. Besides the money problem, there are other reasons too that stimulate people to exercise one profession over the other. In the following paragraphs, I am going to discuss a few of the most relevant reasons.

To begin with, people work for personal realization. It is not a coincidence that in Maslow’s hierarchy of needs self-actualization is on top of the pyramid. Making money will not satisfy this need, so beside having a well-paid job, we need to have a workplace where we can feel useful to the society by adding something to the common effort of increasing the standards of living. We can accomplish our goals by helping other people. Drawing from my experience, when I was working as an assistant in a retirement home, I would often be there beyond my working hours, that of course, were not paid. My extroverted nature played a huge role in this performance. Basically, I was working for free for the simple cause that I was being useful to the elders and when looking at their faces, I felt proud of what I am doing. Thus, the fact that people can realize themselves by using their skills and abilities is a cause for them to work more.

Secondly, people may enjoy going to work to socialize with their colleagues. It so happens that for many people work is a place where we, social creatures, communicate with each other. If a group of colleagues feel connected with each other, they would rather work and spend some more time together than if there was lack of communication. My personal experience is a great example of this. Last summer I had a job on campus where I would often interact with my colleagues. They were extremely supportive and kind. Some of them would bring me coffee after a night shift and their energy and joy would constantly increase my output. In a month or two I would frequent work not so much for the money, but for their personalities. When I was with them, I felt alive.

In conclusion, besides the obvious point of the job, people enjoy working due to the personal realization in the field, as well as the socialization and interconnection with some of their colleagues.