People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

No doubt that people work because they need money to live, but I think that there are many other reasons why people work other than with the aim of earning money. I will explore these reasons in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, I think that people work to gain practical experience of the theoretical knowledge which they have gained in their college educational program. Drawing from my own experience, I studied pharmaceutical sciences as my bachelor’s program. After my bachelor’s I got an opportunity to work as a hospital pharmacist in a government hospital for 6 months. I was not provided with any stipend but I still worked because I wanted to apply my pharmaceutical knowledge in real-world situations.

Furthermore, sometimes people work to keep themselves busy and to avoid boredom because people think that too much relaxation to the brain can make it less efficient and lazy. I would like to given an example from my personal life. My mother recently started giving Arabic tuitions to kids not because it was essential for her to earn a living for the house but because she was bored and had nothing to do in her free time.

Lastly, I think that some people work or take up jobs to keep their mind away from a traumatic past such as the recent loss of a close relative, and divorce with a partner. Again, drawing an example from my personal life. My aunt started working in an IT firm after she lost her husband to COVID-19 last year before that, she was a homemaker and never took up a job. Though she has good money and properties to make a living, she still took the job because she wanted to avoid the grieving process.

In light of the above-mentioned points, I think that people work not just to earn money for a living but also for various other reasons.