If you could go back to some time and place in the past when and where would you go Why Use specific reasons and details to support your choice

There are plenty of places and periods in history that I wish if I had a chance to visit.

It is hard to choose, but if I had to, I would like to visit two places; the first one is in Egypt when the great pyramids were built.

The second option is Damascus city when the old Damascene houses were built.

I feel this way because I am a civil engineer, and I am interested in the details of old buildings, so I have my causes, which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, I would like to see how great pyramids were constructed. The Egyptian pyramids are considered as one of the world’s greatest mysteries and as one of the greatest human achievements.

Even after years of studying Egyptian records and how the Egyptian pyramids were built, there are still many mysteries that scholars are unable to answer.

For instance, it is still unclear how the Egyptians were able to build the pyramids so that they always face the North Star.

Secondly, I would like to back in time to see the previous life in Damascus city, which is now regarded as the capital of Syria country as well as the oldest city in the world.

Damascus has many historic (monumental) places where you will be amazed at the accuracy of the construction, especially in old Damascene houses.

These houses illustrate the lives of previous Syrian people and the warmth that lived in which Syrian families, in addition, show the advantages of Damascene architecture.

Some architects say that it is impossible to feel deeply and note all these valuable details for one visit.

Therefore, if I had the opportunity to travel back in time, I would be able to see in person how they were built both of pyramids and Old Damascene houses because, in building, some engineering issues should be taken into account to provide unique features that last forever.

To sum up, going back in time is an unreal dream, but we have the right to imagine and wish. If I can stop the time and fly through time, I would opt for these two periods.