Why do you think some people are attracted to dangerous sports or other dangerous activities? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are many different kinds of sports that are practiced all over the world. Some are dangerous, such as box, base jumping, or mountain alpinism, while others are much safer, such as football, volleyball, or swimming. The answer to why some people choose the former types of sports over the latter is solely related to the person’s interests and motivation, even though there may be found more general patterns.

To begin with, people that decide to practice dangerous sports usually want to get a good amount of the adrenaline hormone from it and have some diversity in their 9 to 5 and 5/2 lifestyle routine. It is not a secret that the adrenaline rush they experience is highly addictive, otherwise, there would not be so many amateurs practicing dangerous activities and the queues for Russian mountains would be non-existent. Drawing from my own experience, the overwhelming emotions you get from doing dangerous activities are hard to imitate in other ways. I have jumped from a plane with a parachute myself and for this reason, I can wholeheartedly confirm this gave me a feeling of being alive, something I did not experience for a long time.

Secondly, dangerous sports require skill, precision, and a lot of self-confidence. Many professional sportsmen, as well as amateurs, want to prove themselves they are worth something by practicing those uneasy sports. Whilst practicing them, you can rely only on yourself. You became the master of your fate. There is no better method to overcome anxiety and start believing in yourself than succeeding in a dangerous sport. A friend of mine is an amateur mountain alpinist. Last month she and his companion reached the peak of Mont Blanc. When I asked her about the risks, she told me the feeling of setting a goal and then achieving it are worth all of the dangers. Thanks to alpinism, she became more confident and has overcome her fear due to anxiety. It is certainly clear to see why some people are attracted to dangerous sports.

In conclusion, people are interested in dangerous activities because of the rush of adrenaline they experience, and due to personal reasons.