What are some important qualities of a good supervisor? Use specific details and examples to explain why the qualities are important.

Most of them at a workplace has a supervisor unless they are the Chief executive officer or the president. supervisor is the one who assigns their subordinates their work at guides them with it. they are also responsible for coaching and solving issues. For me the important quality of a supervisor are patience, team building skills, interactive, Confidence, Positive attitude, Flexibility.

Most of the supervisors need these qualities to help their subordinate. For example when i was working one of my supervisor was the best. he had all the good qualities of being a supervisor. In this project my supervisor helped me a lot during my learning stages. he used to sit beside me in the early days as i was fresher while i was working and guide me at each and every step. even when i made mistakes he was there to support me and correct them. he taught me write mails efficiently and also to communicate with higher authorities with ease. he was always patient not only with me but with the entire team. he always encouraged us to do what we like and would also help in getting the work which benefits us in the future. he never berated us even when we made mistakes. he did scold us if we repeat the mistakes but that was because we should not repeat them. he never restricted us with anything and was always equal to our wavelength.

On the other hand, when i had to shift to another project there was a change in my manager. The new manager always used to do his own work and never guide us. there were days when he used to push his mistakes on us so that he would not be charged by the higher authorities. he never gave us a good opportunity so that we could shine. he used to push his work on us as well and give us only limited time which was not sufficient for the completion of work. this makes the work environment hostile as we dont feel like working anymore. also we do not have a good communication with each other and the unity of team decreases. And such supervisors do not get the respect of the subordinates

Finally, I conclude that few of these qualities play a very important role to be a good supervisor. As the support and interaction of the supervisor is very important to keep the team intact. The healthy work environment makes people to work happily and easily. if one does not get along with their superiors the work-life balance changes completely and one does not feel like working in that field anymore. so the supervisor plays an important role to build a happy team.