When making major purchase (for example, car or laptop), our decisions can be influenced by different sources of information.

Explain how each of the following sources of information can influence your decision.

(1) Recommendations from friends or colleagues

(2) Information from media (for example, TV, magazines, newspapers)

(3) Recommendations from sales person in the store

We are influenced by many informations when we decide to do something, Especially to buy expensive major stuff. There are three sources of suggestion may impact my opinion. And I would say it all have various influences to me.

Recommendations from friends or colleagues are valuable. Because my friends or workmates will not lie to me. Now that they suggest about the stuff I am going to buy, they must have already purchased one, at least similar one. Like I am going to buy a new cell phone, which is a necessary item for everyone, my friends must have various brand of phones and I can see all of them clearly in front of me. Not to mention they have already used their phone for a period of time, they can tell me the true feeling of using it. So I have range option before I truly by a phone.

Information from media like Internet, maybe have a confusing effect to my choice. Because there are plenty of information from Internet. Like I want to buy a car and I do a fuzzy search in the searching engine. Even I simply want to search a certain brand of a car, it still gives me lots of extra useless information like sport cars or vans, which I totally not consider about. Moreover, information from internet often exaggerates their merchandise or put some confusing introductions, which may turns out I bought a car far away from my original purpose.

Salesman’s recommendation would be a good information. Since they deal with the item all the time, recommendate them to different customers vary demands. They should very familiar to their item. Like if I want to buy a laptop, I just need to assert my demands like how large the hard disk is, how many core the laptop should have. And the salesman in the shop will give me types of lattops with price which all fulfill my request. It is very convenient since the salesman have done the choosing work.

In conclusion, Reccommendation from friends is reliable, information from Internet should think twice, and a good salesman will list the options which let me choose easier.