When a new technological device becomes available, some people buy it right away; others wait until many have adopted it. Which view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this highly technological era, people nowadays are expected to have access to a variety of emerging technological devices, ranging from the latest electrical products to daily products. While some people embrace them immediately, some people choose to delay their purchase after those produces have been adopted by others. From my perspective, I am align with the latter statement.

First, delay purchasing enables people to save money considerably. As a matter of fact, when a latest technological device emerges, oceans of people are fanatical about it, which might increase the whole demand in the market considerably. In this case, in order to maximize the profits, usually do companies elevate the product’s price heavily. In contrast, if a majority of people have owned and adopted those commodities, the whole demand for them will decrease heavily since most of them do not need additional one. The companies that aim to ensure its sales volumes would decrease their price, which enables someone who desires to pay for them to save a lot of money. Iphone can be compelling example of this. When the latest version of Iphone is about to put on sale, a number of people expecting it and are willing to pay for it no matter how high its price is, which increases the demand for Iphone in the world market. Apple Company would regard it a commercial opportunity since they can ensure the sales volumes while pursuing the maximized bonus at the same time. Thus, they decide to put up its price. However, after a number o people have owned their own latest version of Iphone, the whole demand would decrease, which in turn urges the company to drop its price by 20 percent or even more. Under this circumstance, not only can people whom decide to delay purchasing enjoy the almost same services but also they can save a considerate amount of money.

Second, deferred shopping can also helps to people to take others’ user experiences as a reference. Granted, someone who embraces those products right away is able to enjoy its newest experience. However, they also need to bear the risk of potential downsides brought by those latest devices. In contrast, consumers who put off their shopping can better know the pros and cons of the device through others’ comments and experiences of those products. In this case, they are able to make a meticulous decision. My personal experience can be a compelling example. When Tesla’ new cars powered by electricity were sold for the first time, numerous people made a purchase. Initially, it could help them to save money since the fuel was much more expensive than the electricity. Gradually, people found that they had to bear the potential risk of being involved in explosion because the electricity could give rise to a fire and thus an explosion easily. There are several news of life loss caused by accident explosions in the world and many people who owned Tesla’s cars expressed their concerns about their own safety on the social media despite the saved cost. After being exposed to those information, I decided not to purchase Tesla’s car for the sake of my safety.

In conclusion, when a new technological device occurs, deferring the purchase should be prioritized.