When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Could the students learn more from team projects than doing by themselves? This question has been hotly debated among people for decades. Some people hold the opinion that teamwork could help the students finish difficult projects that they could not done by themselves, therefore, learning much more than personal projects. However, it is my contention that personal projects actually make the students learn more than team projects, and the negative consequences brought by team projects outweigh their benefits. Let me elaborate.

First of all, team project usually is not finished by the team. The fact is, some students would never contribute, and there is always someone who need to do everything by himself. For example, when I was in university, my roommate always team up with me in team projects. I hate to group up with him because he never pays attention in group discussion and he never finishes anything the team lead assigns him to do. In order to finish the project, I always need to do the works that he supposes to do. Therefore, he had learned nothing from the team project. On the contrary, if this was a personal project, he would need to finish the project by himself and at least he could learn something from it.

Secondly, some students would always do the same thing in a team, therefore, they would not have the experience of other parts of the project. Take myself as an example, I am not afraid of speaking in front of the class so I always volunteer to be the speaker of the team. As a result, the only thing I have learned from team project is speech. If this was a personal project, I would have learned how to do the research and write the report besides presenting.

To conclude, it is my opinion that personal projects are better than team projects when it comes to make the students learn effectively. Only personal projects could force the students to do their work by themselves and learn every aspect of a complete project.