Which do you prefer: resolving a problem through emails and text messages or resolving it through phone calls and voice mails? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Nowadays, people have several ways to keep a connection with their friends through social media, email, cellphone and voice mails. As people use different tools to solve their problems, they have to choose the way wisely. Some people may state that resolving a problem through emails and text messages is an efficient way while others argue that phone calls and voice mails are deep to discuss the problem. In my opinion, I prefer using phone calls and voice mails to connect with people for several reasons.

First of all, resolving problems though phone calls and voice mails can directly save the problem without a waste of time. To illustrate, when I worked in the urban office in Taipei city which in Taiwan, we often to use emails and letters to discuss the design project without a mayor. Nevertheless, it is too hard to use the message to explain the beauty of the design and we cannot know the feedback immediately. We waste of our time and the mayor’s crowded schedule. To resolve this problem, we start using voice mails to communicate, if we have some emergency problems, we will call the major directly. As a result, it is an efficient way that helps us to catch the deadline for the assignment.

Second, through calling and voice mails, people can deeply discuss solution safety. To be specific, the president of Taiwan will not use email to connect with other countries because it is too easy to catch the details in the mail but it is impossible to hear the voice through the calling in the president office. Personally, I have several times of the crucial interviews with companies. The manager can deeply observe people’s faces and emotion to know the characteristics of the person. In contrast, if the manager only use words of the messages to understand the interviewer, it will take a risk that the person who wrote the mail is totally different with the truly worker who go to the company, due to people can ask someone to act like a polite person through writing. In the end, I recommend people who have to resolve problem by calling and voice mails because we have to extremely deliberate the solution with each other.

Third, as people talking, the tone and emotion through the voice help me to understand his or her feeling about the problem. For example, I have the thesis design with my professor who stays in Japan for several months. Actually, even we use voice mails and phone calls to communicate, we still have an effective process to keep the design in good condition. If he has a cough or sighs through the calling, I will know that maybe he is not satisfying of the project. Also, I will be anxiety if my talking is too fast and nervous. Eventually, voice is a true way to feel a person’s emotion and help us to organize the situation comprehensively.

Definitely, some people may think that it is embracing to solve the problem through talking like voice mails and phone calls because you only have one chance to talk about the topic and you cannot erase the texts like in the emails and messages. However, I suggest that people should practice much more through communication due to we talk a lot in every day and the process is necessary. Furthermore, resolving the problem through phone calls and voice mails not only cultivates our communication skills but increase our organize abilities as well. To conclude, I prefer to resolve the problem through phone calls and voice mails for the three reasons, and I gave the specific details about the topic why I prefer this way.