Which of the following values do you think is most important to teach to a young child?

Being honest or being helpful or being patient?

It is critically important that we raise our children properly. Personally, I believe it is very helpful to teach our children to be patient. I feel this way for two main reasons that will be explored in the ensuing paragraph.

To begin with, patient children are more likely to overcome struggles at school. In other words, a patient student will not give up when he faces academic challenges. Therefore, he will learn a lot in his classes. My compelling experience is an illustration of this concept. When I was in third grade, I struggled with math. To be specific, I couldn’t figure out how to do long division correctly on my own. At first, I wanted to give up and stop trying so hard. However, my mom encouraged me to stay patient and try again and again until I grasp the idea on my own. eventually, I could find the proper way to solve long division questions alone by myself. For this matter, I am grateful for my mom who taught me patience. If she didn’t encourage me to be patient and try again, I wouldn’t have learned how to solve these mathematical problems.

Also, raising our children to be patient teaches them financial independence. Patience instills the willpower to save money for a more secure future rather than spending money immediately on worthless stuff. For instance, when I was young, my parents used to give me and my brother a weekly allowance of 10 dollars. I used to spend my allowance on candy and junk food. My brother, on the other hand, would save his money in a bank account, because he wanted to buy a video game. In one year, his savings were enough to buy what he wanted. Consequently, he got this video game he always wanted to. Because he had the willpower to stay patient and didn’t spend his money on his immediate desires. Thus, teaching our children to be patient means planting an important financial skill in them from a young age

In conclusion, it is wise to bring up our children to be patient because it will help them in the future when they don’t give up easily and they would know how to save money for important stuff rather than meaningless things.