People in society work in many different settings, and for a variety of reasons. What do you think is the main reason why people have jobs?

to feel happier about their lives

to save money for the future

to develop new skills

Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

Only a narrow-minded person would suggest that making money is the single reason people go to work every day. Personally, I believe people get jobs for two reasons that I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, having a job gives our lives a sense of purpose. Which is beneficial for our mental health. The objectives of our job are something to strive for each day and make it easy to establish long and short-term goals. Without a job, people often feel directionless. Take my compelling experience as an example. In 2008, after ten years of working in a fast-paced corporate environment, I was laid off from my job. Although I was financially secure and did not need a new position right away, I was tremendously depressed because I did not have an official job. Pursuing my hobbies was fun, but I lacked something to strive for each day. On the other hand, while I had a job, I had been assigned sales objectives and profit objectives to work towards. And without these goals, I felt depressed. Obviously, accomplishing professional goals always gave me a sense of satisfaction.

Second, going to work every day is a great opportunity to meet new people, which can provide us with a sense of happiness. Meanwhile, unemployed people interact mostly with family members and old friends. Which might be boring sometimes. For instance, I worked at a local supermarket when I was in high school. I look back on this experience with fondness. Because I was jubilant to chat with an eclectic assortment of customers who came in. In fact, it was one of my best jobs despite I was not paid much like my current job.

In conclusion, People get jobs not only because they aim for a purpose in their life, but also because they get the chance to connect with interesting people