People in society work in many different settings, and for a variety of reasons. What do you think is the main reason why people have jobs?

to feel happier about their lives

to save money for the future

to develop new skills

Thanks to new technology and improvements of modern society in terms of employees' rights, everyone can easily find and start his or her dream job with minimum efforts. Most people agree that the main reason that why we have jobs is that by this way we can earn money, save it, and feel happier in our lives. However, personally, I believe that our tendency to have jobs is more related to develop our skills to be a better person in our professional career. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, being professional is related to be productive and perform important tasks efficiently. Most companies have searched to find people that they can manage their work without any surveillance. In fact, an independent employee, who can employ his or her experiences for managing non-critical tasks, can improve the performance of a company because, by this approach, the company do not need the hierarchical management system anymore, and it can decrease the company's costs sharply. My experience is a compelling illustration of this. I am a manager in an international software company. We have many software developers who live in various places in the world, and managing these kinds of employees is not simple work. We always seek to hire developers that have better skills to manage their work independently. Therefore, developing the skills can increase the chance of a person to find the best job opportunity and decrease the cost of companies.

Furthermore, the other reason that should be noted is that improving our skills is a factor that can affect our self-confidence in the long term. In other words, no one forces people to develop their skills instead of themselves, and It can give them this feeling that they have control on their lives. Many mental illnesses can be cured by improving self-confidence. For instance, recent research in the United States has shown that people with self-confidence can manage their emotions in their jobs and do not allow negative thoughts make their work worst.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that developing new skills and improving the existing ones are the best reasons for someone who have a job. This is because, in this way, someone can be professional, and it can improve self-confidence.