Which of the following would you choose? A job with regular salary and regular working hours OR a job with high salary but long working hours?

Most people have to work in modern society, and working hour prolongs due to increased workload. As a result, some people bring up the idea that work-life is more important than the salary so people should not work overtime. However, I would choose a job with high salary even though the working hour is longer. Below are three reasons to support my claim.

To begin with, I want to earn a lot of money, so job with high salary is a top choice to me. To be more specific, I enjoy fancy food and staying at luxury hotels when I travel, so I need to earn a great amount of money to support my living style. While some people indicate that if they work long hours, they would not have time to do other things. However, in my opinion, I can use my money to hire people to do things that I don’t have time to do, for example, a housekeeper to clean my house and do the laundry for me. Hence, I prefer the job which allows me to earn much money.

In the second place, I like to challenge myself and pursue higher-level position, which usually require a long working hour. For instance, I spent extra time after work to gain knowledge related to my job, and I got promoted fast. If I did not do so, I would not have got the promotion. In addition, all of the directors and general manager in my company work from 8:00 in the morning till 8:00 at night, and sometimes I receive working emails from them in the late night. That is, to pursue a position in higher level management, I have to adapt to the long working hour.

Although some people hold the view that long working hour is stressful, I hold the opposite position. To explain, I would choose a job base on my interest and passion, so when I devote myself to the job and work for long hours, I don't’ feel pressured. Instead, I feel happy and worthwhile. Accordingly, I once heard from a senior colleague told me that although he worked 12 hours a day, he did not feel the work-life balance was a problem, because he really enjoyed his work. That is, his work was an important part of his life. Therefore, I believe long working hour would not bring me much stress.

In summary, I prefer the job with high salary even thought I have to work much time since I need much money to live my desired life. Also, in order to pursue higher-level position, I don’t mind to work long hours, and in fact, I believe I will enjoy my job very much.