Which of the following would you choose? A job with regular salary and regular working hours OR a job with high salary but long working hours?

Recently, maintaining a well balanced life has became an increasingly important issue and whether it is wise to choose a job with regular salary and working hours or a job with high salary but long working hours has aroused heated arguments. People, nevertheless have contrasting opinions. Some people prefer to work long and accumulate wealth, while other people prefer to live a comfortable life. In my opinion, I prefer to have a job with regular salary and regular working hours because I believe enjoying life is more important than being wealthy. Also, excessive labor could cause serious health problems.

To begin with, I personally place greater emphasis on enjoying and experiencing new things and enjoying life rather than being rich. For me, nothing is more important than enjoying time with my friends and family. Even if I accumulate much wealth, if I have no time to relax and have fun, I won't be happy. For example, my friend is a doctor who works in an emergency room. He is highly paid, receives nearly twice the salary I earn, however he works nearly 19 hours a day. He always complains about how his work is tough and he has no spare time to have a break and spend time for leisure. Looking at him, I realized that nothing is more important in life is to be happy and comfortable. In contrast, I work in a small business, which I get paid not much but work 8 hours a day and weekends off. After work, I usually have time with my families or sometimes with my friends. Also, I utilize my time to read books and listening to music in order to relax and develop myself. Although I may not be rich, I feel happy and satisfied with my current life. Enjoying a relaxing life is my number one priority to me.

In addition, overworking is harmful for your health. According to the World Health Organization, health is defined as maintaining a complete physical, mental and social conditions. Overexertion could be detrimental in maintaining good conditions. I have seen on the news that the longer the working hours, it is more likely that employees will suffer from diseases such as obesity and scoliosis. Sitting for a long time will make your bones weak, and without sufficient exercise, it is difficult to maintain a good physical shape. Furthermore, people receive much stress during working. This will affect your mental conditions seriously. A recent survey indicates that many employees suffer from mental disorder which is mainly caused by excessive stress from the workplace. This will not only affect your mental state, but also your social life. Since overexertion causes such health issues, I would prefer to keep regular working hours.

In conclusion, I believe that having a job with regular working hours is a wise choice even though you get paid less. This is because I put more value into happiness and entertainment than wealth, and also excessive work affects your health. It is important to maintain balance between work and life.