Do you agree or disagree with the statement? Playing sports teaches people important lessons in their life.

While some people do not agree that playing sports teaches us important lessons in life, I contend it is important in human life and everyone should play sports. Below are three reasons.

To begin with, doing exercises enables people to strengthen mental toughness. To illustrate, we will learn how to overcome difficulties and challenge ourselves during exercise. Take myself as an example. Five years ago I started to take kickboxing class and I often got drained half way of the class. My instructor therefore though me to first know my limit, adjust my pace, and then push myself a bit further each time. Eventually I was able to finish the whole class with ease and had a great sense of achievement, which helped me build my positive attitude toward other difficulties I encountered. That is, by playing sports, people will learn to be strong mentally.

In the second place, we must learn to work with others and playing sports allows people to become a good team player. For instance, my brother played basketball since high school. To make the team perform better, the basketball team members took training together every day, discuss their tactics before the game, and review their performance together after the game. They sometimes had conflicts during the discussion but they would find way out to work together again. In consequence, they each became a good team player, and had good resilience, which helped them work with other people for business.

Last but not least, people need friends in life, and playing sports enables people make good friends. Just like what happened in my kickboxing class. I once felt upset after the class because I could not keep up with the instructor. Yet my classmate encouraged me and shared her similar experience with me. Thanks to her, I did not give up. Since then I made many good friends like her, and I enjoy the feeling having accompanies encouraging each other and aiming higher goals. As the case with my brother, his old basketball teammates are still his best friends now.

In summary, I agree that playing sports teaches us important lessons in life based three reasons presented above. It helps us strengthen our mental toughness, learn to work with others, and brings us life long friends.