Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they already know how to do well.

The modern world changes with an unprecedented speed due to the rapid development of technology. Some people believe that successful people merely do what they already know and keep doing it well, whereas I hold the view that successful people do more than that. Successful people have the strong interest in learning new things and are willing to take risks.

In the first place, successful people learn things to challenge and improve themselves. They would not be satisfied with what they already achieved. Taking the Apple Company as an example, its development team never settles. Firstly, they invented the Apple computer which was a breakthrough at the time. Then they surprised everyone with the iPod, another breakthrough which changed the way people listening to the music. Further, the iPhone came out, the first so-called the smartphone, which ended an old times and opened a whole new world of the mobile phone. Every year, people look forward to what new invention they will release to the world. Needless to say, the Apple is one of the most successful companies in the world which makes big impacts on current people’s life. I believe if the Apple is reluctant to learn new technology, it cannot have its achievement today.

Secondly, the will of taking risks is important to successful people as well. No one would doubt that Lady Gaga gained a huge success in terms of her music and her fashion style, which are very bold and unique. However, actually, before she released her first album, she had been playing music in a pub for a decade. If she did not take the risk, giving up her job and starting to do her music freely, she would not have reached such a big success today. In addition, although many people do not agree with her style, she does not give in to please those people. She would rather take the risk, keeping expressing what she likes.

It is true that in the past, people could acquire success by doing what they are already familiar with. However, nowadays the world changes fast and people put emphasis on creativity and innovation, it is impossible to reach success in the old way. In conclusion, I firmly believe that successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they already know how to do well.