Which one do you prefer? Why?

1) a company offering you a job with challenging and interesting projects but less vacation days or

2) another company offering you a job that is not so challenging and interesting but has more vacation days.

Career choice is one of the most important factors in the quality of one’s life. In this regard, many prefer to have an ordinary job, which does not require so much energy and effort and offers them more vacation days. On the other hand, others have the conviction that having a challenging job is a key element to have a successful life. I personally subscribe to the view that it is far beneficial having a challenging job, even though it offers a lot fewer vacation days. I hold this opinion for two main reasons, which I will elucidate in the following essay.

To begin with, challenging jobs can bring us the wealth of professional experience, making us flourish in our own fields. As Albert Einstein is often quoted as saying:’ We cannot solve our problems with the same level of thinking that created them’. Accordingly, challenging jobs require people to improve their abilities to think more creative and complex, forcing them to consider various perspectives instead of being so dogmatic, sticking to only one viewpoint. Moreover, these kinds of jobs enable people to discover other aspects of their abilities, otherwise would remain voiceless. For instance, when I started my job as a structural designer at a small company, my boss ordered me to design a curve rock shed, which no one had ever done in the history of the company. At first, it seemed to be very complex including so many details, but I tried to combine some concepts to invent a new procedure. I got the verification of the procedure from a well-known professor in this field. I do not regret to choose that job since now I am master in designing curve rock sheds so much as sometimes my colleagues call me the mother of rock shed.

Secondly, three-quarters of our life spent on working. Therefore, what would happen if we do not enjoy our jobs? It likes we lose most of our lives doing what we are not interested in. That is, we squander the most precious gift, our time, waiting for vacation days. However, the truth is we will not enjoy our holidays insomuch as we know boring days with tedious projects are coming. According to the scientists what a person really needs in his/ her life to be happy is having a balance between job and hobbies. The more one has a passion for her/his job and strives for working, the more he/ she enjoys vacation days. Therefore, it is far better to choose an interesting carrier so that we would be passionate to get back to work, and therefore have a good time during vacation.

To wrap the long story short, I firmly believe that choosing an interesting and challenging job could benefit people greatly since not only will it cause people to blossom, but it brings more exhilaration to their lives as well.