It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

In today's world, thanks to the advent of communication technology and media, people are able to know about all the events happening all around the world. In this regard, many believe that it is not necessary to know about everything in the world, since many of them are out of their business, and they cannot do anything about them. However, others believe that it is advantageous to listen and read about news around the world. I am unanimous with the latter group for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, knowing about what is happening around the globe, makes the world a better place to live. Some events especially the ones which influence people’s lives on a larger scale required to be widespread to save humans’ lives on the earth. In other word, these kinds of news cause some profound changes in governments policies, and could not be neglected since an enormous number of people are aware of them. These news usually involve events such as wars, environmental issues, and discrimination against minority and weak communities in societies, to name but a few. Taken, for example, environmental issues which has become a major concern through broadcasts. As a result, people and nations as well are now aware of the importance of natural environments, and the consequences of human activities on it. Thus, today, we are witnessing strict restrictions that governments impose on manufacturers for discharging pollutants into natural environments. In addition, people treat their home, earth, better than before by using public transportation and other green actions. Hence, being aware of some events all around the world make us do something to prevent human disasters.

Secondly, being exposed to news around the globe, widens people’s horizon, improving their lifestyles, and consequently the whole country, since each country comprises individuals. Knowing news not only makes people informed about events in other nations but it also unconsciously alters their lifestyle in positive ways, since it provides an opportunity for people to compare their weaknesses and strengths with people in other countries. For instance, once I was listening to foreign news, I was impressed by the way people in Germany protest against an unfairly and sudden increase in the cost of dairies. They do not take any physical action, but instead they peacefully abstain to buy diaries, which posed adverse consequences on economic as well as social status of diary companies. They insist on their position till the government had to mediate, and met their demands. Hence, exposure to news around the world will expand people’s horizon, and consequently the quality of their lives.

In conclusion, according to what I mentioned above, it is far better to expose to news from all around the world because not only it prevent from some human disaster and lead to some reforming in the world as whole, but it also can assist in expanding people’s horizon, improving the quality of people’s lives.