Some people believe that individuals can do nothing to improve the environment and only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Today, environmental related issues have been placed the top priority in many countries due to the direct influence they have on the quality of people’s lives. While many might opine that, individuals can do nothing regarding the environment, I believe that although their part is smaller, it cannot be overlooked.

First of all, a considerable part of air pollution in big cities is due to carbon dioxide emitted from vehicles in the streets. Therefore, if people try to use bicycles or public transportation instead of their private cars, they can take a big part in having a clean and fresh air, which will in turn lead to a reduction in green gasses- the major factor in global warming-. Furthermore, in many countries specially the underdeveloped ones, in order to supply the required electricity, they exploit nature in destructive ways. For example, they construct dams, which has negative effects on the ecosystem both during and after construction. Thus, if people try to use the electricity more efficiently and in a sustainable way, the nature will undoubtedly receive less harms.

Second, besides what I mentioned above, individuals can also contribute to having a healthy environment by separating the recyclable materials such as metals, plastics, etc. from the rubbish they produce instead of disposing of them as waste. what is more?. In many communities, individuals especially the youngsters join together and collect rubbish from the streets and parks on specific days in the week. This great job not only prevents some harmful insects and prevalence diseases to spread but it also beautifies the sights of the city and makes them pleasant.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that individuals also can take part in improving the environment. they can do so by using public transportation, consuming electricity more efficiently, and by preserving their community clean.