Businesses should hire employees for their entire lives. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue of employment has been a controversial issue among experts since the economic fortune in any country depends on the policies governments adopt toward this matter. In this regard, some people may opine that it is more beneficial for businesses to employ people for their entire life. Others, however, disagree. I personally subscribe to the view that implementing such a policy would not result in great outcomes. I cling to this standpoint for two main reasons, which I will elucidate in the following essay.

To begin with, employees would lose their motivation to compete, which results in flourishing. It is more instinctive trait than subjective that human beings would not starve in unrestricted conditions. As a result, employees hired for a long time will not make any effort to stabilize their position or a promotion. When you are in danger of losing something precious, naturally make your best to preserve it. Not only that but this policy will kill the sense of competition in the workplace, which remarkably influences employees’ flourishing and success in their field of profession.

Second, businesses will not succeed anymore since the prosperity of any business is tightly intertwined with the flourishing of the members. How can we imagine a company with such employees can be a winner in the rivalry world. This policy is nothing more than a communism in which people do not compete with each other, and thereby, no achievement would be obtained. For a tangible example, I worked for a company which produced cheese for about 5 years. Surprisingly, the company had always taken this approach since the company opened. I was sure that the company was doomed to fail because there was nobody tried to make any innovation to optimum the brand. As a result, the younger companies which also produced cheese establish the hiring policy based on the qualification of the personal. As a result, after 5 years the company was eliminated from the stage since others provided new taste in cheese, which grabbed the attention of people, and thereby, gained a lot of money. As we see, had not the company adopt such policy, it would have been a great opponent and remained on the stage for a longer period of time.

To put all into a nutshell, I firmly disagree with hiring employees for their entire lives since not only does it hinder them from flourishing due to lack of competition and motivation, but it also forces the business to go into tailspins.