Businesses should hire employees for their entire lives. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The decision to hire an employee for life is a serious commitment on the part of both parties(back ground). For the employee, such an arrangement means lifetime job security. From the perspective of an employer, however, the deal is not so sweet(Question). Guaranteed lifetime employment, or tenure, at a company, can promote bad work habits, prevent innovation, and lead to potentially disastrous personnel problems(opinion).

When a workers' employment is contingent upon their job performance, they will tend to work diligently.(p1 ) On the other hand, if workers know that no matter how hard they work, they will receive the same amount of money and have no chance of being fired, there are no incentives for them to work. (opposite)For people to be model workers they need compelling reasons to work hard and produce work of the highest quality. A tenure-system promotes laziness, inefficiency and lowquality work because it fails to offer incentives for good work, and fails to offer compelling deterrents against bad work.

Secondly, companies that offer lifetime positions to employees cannot adapt to a rapidly changing world(p2). For instance, if an employee who was hired by a company twenty years ago might be too old to effectively learn new computer related skills.(lizi) In today’s modern office environment, companies that cannot make effective use of new technology are at a severe disadvantage to those that can. In this case, a company that does not have the freedom to restructure, hiring and firing employees, in accordance with shifting demands is likely to fail. A company that provides its employees with tenure effectively locks out new blood and runs the risk of being paralyzed by a staff unable to change with the times.

Finally, offering tenure to employees is a major risk because of unforeseeable personnel problems. Every office, no matter how well managed, is bound to have personality conflicts. In many cases, personality conflicts can lead to one of the feuding parties leaving the company. But if the conflict involves two tenured employees, the business might be seriously affected, even destroyed. Despite the uncertainty it brings to workers lives, the company must look out for its own best interests first and not allow this disastrous situation to occur by not instituting a tenure policy.