Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to read or watch the news presented by people whose views are similar to your own than by people whose views are different from yours.

Thanks to the advent of information and communication technologies, a variety of news sources have created including the websites on the internet and social media. Since news plays a crucial role in the quality of our lives, it is so important to choose them wisely. Many people may prefer to receive information from certain sources with specific views; while others would rather listen and read from sources with different attitudes. I am unanimous with the latter group for two main reasons, which I explore in the following essay.

First of all, receiving information from different news sources will better reveal the fact, since they give us views on different aspects of an event. There are many groups or organizations in the world which intend to take advantages of events through media. For instance, the fact of many political stories is the slave to the biased policies of central governments. Thus, to better figure out the reality, one must put together all the news from either national or international media. Hence, being aware of this issue and know about various perspectives of events will help us to have a more accurate perception about what is really going on in the world around us.

Moreover, being exposed to various perspectives will undoubtedly expand one’s horizon; while reading or watching certain sources of news will for people bring about nothing but narrow sight. People can learn from different attitudes toward certain events, updating their thoughts to have a better life. My own experience was a complelling example of this. I grew up in a family with rigid religious beliefs, and I had been living many years with some principles which were on the contrary with each other in my mind. At that time, I started to read a variety of books in various areas. As a result, many of my complex challenges about the world and life solved, and now l live peacefully inside. Therefore it is very beneficial to hear and read from other people, especially who have beliefs that are very different from yours.

To make the long story short, I think that read and watch news from different sources can be more beneficial in a way that, they better help to reveal the fact of events and give more accurate perceptions of the world, and it helps people to expand their horizon and have a better

life.