Which one of the following values is the most important

to share with a young child (5-10 years old)?

1.being helpful

2.Being honest

3.Being well organized

Without a shadow of doubt, appreciated values play a prominent role in every individual’s life. Although some people might believe that young children do not need to know about valuable principals, others possess the conviction that it is good for children at age 5-10 learn about morals such as being helpful, being truthful, and being well-organized. As far as I am concerned, being helpful is a cardinal value that children should know and practice it. I will elaborate on my viewpoint through the following paragraphs.

First of all, one should take into account that mankind is a social creature, and needs to be a part of a society. Having a helpful characteristic in one’s personality helps young people to be more eager to communicate with others, have feelings of sympathy, feel more confident in their relationships, and relay on others during their lives. A recent study in Germany indicates that the more children at young age are taught to be helpful, the more socially active they become. This survey was done in a kindergarten in a small town, in which caring for family and friends is a cultural value, and it is appreciated in their educational system. It was a five-year research program, and the results showed that those children who were regularly encouraged to help others, were 62% more socially active than others. According to the results of this study, it is obvious that realizing the meaning of being helpful have positive influence on children’s social behaviors.

The second reason that I would like to mention is that sharing a valuable concept such as being helpful, teaches young people to be responsible for other as well. Take a personal experience as an example: back to the time that I was a seven-year old little girl, my mother told a story of her childhood, the way she took care of her younger brother when he was sick, while she had to study hard for exams. She helped him only because she loved him. I kept thinking that although my mother was not responsible for her brother’s illness, she felt that she should help him anyway. Since that time, I try to consider others, specially my loved ones, and help them if needed, no matter what is going on in my life.

To sum up, I firmly believe that being sharing tenet values like being helpful is required for children in age 5-10 because it leads them to be more socially active, and I recommend to parents and all adults who are dealing with young children to share this principle with them, and help them to understand the meaning of this concept by showing them how it is like to be a helpful person