Which one is the most important for teacher of high school? The ability to help students plan for their future; the ability to find the student who need the most help and to give that help; or the ability to encourage students to learn on their own outside of the classroom.

As people have begun to regard high school education as a crucial part of individual career life, the core capabilities and role of high school teachers should rise to a hot topic. Contrary to those who contend that either finding out and solving students’ problems or boosting the self-study ability of students is the most essential skill for high school teachers; I am pro the opinion that the most important aspect of a high school teacher is to be able to help students plan their future.

To begin with, high school students are in desperate need for guidance regarding their future career development, and teachers would be the closest competent candidates to offer advice as they know the student on a daily basis. When I was in high school, for example, a great portion of my classmates were aiming only to reach minimum requirements for graduation and to get an offer from a middle-ranged college in the U.S. as most of my cohort including myself were profoundly addicted to computer games at the time. Owing to our immature thoughts, we had no idea in terms of preference of future career or choice of universities. What made matters worse is that our teachers provided us with virtually zero instruction concerning our college application materials such as a solid plan of study or personal statement since they simply knew nothing about it thus lacking intention to help us. Consequently, these misfortunes surely could have been avoided if we had teachers who were capable of offering lucid instructions and plans for their students' career.

Granted, we could not neglect the demand of being able to find students who need assistances the most and help them. However, high school students, in contrast to elementary or middle-school students, are much more independent, and independent enough to request for teachers’ help voluntarily while they encounter adversities. In addition, it will be counterproductive for students if teachers are always the ones asking students’ detailed things and just as treating students like babies. Therefore, such ability would be considered to be not quite imperative.

Similarly, some people might think teaching students how to self-study outside the classroom is the most important capability because learning should be a life-long pursuit which is not limited in the school. Family education also plays an essential role on students’ behavioral model, regardless of how teachers endeavor to guide correct direction. Take my friend Tom for instance, his parents never asked him about where he went after school even if he came back late, where he was always playing online games in the cyber café after school. In this case, teachers’ advises would have no effect as a result of the deficiency of a family’s ability for fundamental discipline.

In summary, with the aforementioned reasons above, I would regard that a high school teacher's capacity of offering students with constructive plans regarding their career life is the most important characteristic.