Which one you prefer: working five days but fewer hours per day or three days and longer hours per day

The time one spends at work-place is one of the most crucial periods in life, as it leads to personal happiness and satisfaction and shapes the ensuing future. Hence, one of the most controversial issues amongst many people is to schedule working time efficiently. As far as I am concerned in the state of ambivalence, I might lean toward working for a shorter period for five days. Conceivably, many people believe that three-days-working is a more profitable option, but many reasons such as the daily free time and total mood enhancement can declare a higher beneficiary of the five-days-working system. I will interpret my statement in the following.

First, the time to enjoy daily activities is an advantageous to life quality and happiness due to the valuable interactions included in daily off-work experiences. Doubtlessly, these interactions help to broaden the life quality and enrich one's satisfaction. To be able to spend time on fun activities such as watching a movie, visiting relatives and playing with family members, we need to have a regulated amount of time, which the compound working day can not bring. Granted, you have two free days to enjoy, but you can not play with your children when they are at school. As an illustrative example, when I first entered high school at shahid Behsti high school in Iran there was a girl, named Sara. Sara's fether worker in a company from Monday to Wednesday, which remained him two days to spend with his daughter. In the beginning, everyone thought Sara was lucky to spend many days with his father, but it was not true. Unfortunately, we had social activities during Thursdays and Fridays during the whole three years. Sara's father was meant to spend majority of his time with his beloved daughter, but circumstances did not go as planned. As one can see, having daily short periods to do fun activities is better as one can make more flexible plans and it associates with daily free hours a work provides.

It is not presumptuous to judge one's daily mood according to strees level. No one can truly assure another's stress solely based on office-time, but it is assumable that if one works for longer hours, the perceived stress level would increase. A person who seems relaxed works for fewer hours most of the time and enjoys daily relaxation routines. My personal experiences are the foundation behind my next point. Office work hours directly influence the tension which is imperative to total tonic-mood. Surely, it is wiser to reduce working time than to deny the pressure and have gloomy mood.

I am of the conviction that one needs to experience enjoyment daily and have a good mood. This is a personal suggestion in which its effects are evident in motivation and enjoyment. Regarding the aforementioned reasons, I conclude that spending five days at work is a better option as long as one spends fewer hours at work per day. All in all, a coin has two sides and an edge, so it is wise to include personal preferences and experiences into account before final decision-taking.