Working three days a week for long hours or five days a week for shorter hours which one is better?

It has long been a controversy among my extended family that of the options of working three days a week for long hours or five days a week for shorter hours which one is more preferable. As far as I am concerned, answering to this question is imperative as it deals with one of the most important methods for living efficiently. Notwithstanding that those who hold the opposite view are partially reasonable, I would contend that working only three days a week for long hours is better compared to the other way.

The first reason that I should mention is that working three days a week would give us more time and comfort in weekends. For instance, when I was a kid, my father had a temporary job for a company for only three days a week; Those days are among the best days of my life as he spent so much time with me, such as traveling to nearby cities, watching sports and etc. After the completion of his mission in the company, he did not have enough time for the time-consumption hobbies.

The second reason for my propensity is that it is much better if we have to work another job to support our family. According to a research which was conducted by one of the most reputable universities in my country, people have two jobs on average due to low salaries. In this scenario, the residents of my country would love to work in a job with lower days as they can do another job. On the contrary, some people may argue that they can do their second job in afternoon. However, part jobs or non-primarily jobs are usually are in work time and by doing so they would miss their chance.

The last, but not the least, most people that I know including myself would like to get rid of their tasks in a job immediately compared to doing the task or project every day. A prime example from my own experience may shed some light to this point; during the days of my job as a teaching assistant in a university, I noticed that, it is more enjoyable to work hard to finish my project compared to only working in the so-called working hours. By doing that, I was able to save my time for more important things in my life such as enjoying a trip with my family to another country.

To conclude, considering the above reasons, it is more efficient and enjoyable to work harder in some certain days. However, Benjamin Franklin once said “Lost time is never found again”. We should spend our time close to our family and jobs are just ways to make money.