A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Although being rich and powerful seem to rule the society, I completely agree that the values shape the individuals who form the society itself.

I strongly believe that no one would like to be cheated, lied or disappointed by their friends. Possessing respectful ranks or owning a huge bank account may give a short-term happiness or maybe admiration by others, however, those have never satisfied the owners who had them. Many of these people are known to turn their backs on friends, cheat on their spouses or spend their evenings over-indulging in alcohol and/or drugs. Things like owning a castle, driving an expensive car and getting into A-class parties are exalted above old-fashioned values. Ultimately, it is the many readers of gossip magazines and celebrity blogs who reinforce these ideas.

I do believe that in their day-to-day lives most people still believe in values such as honour, honesty and trust. In some way most of us want to form loving families, raise our children as good citizens, stand up for the downtrodden and protect our communities from social illnesses. We still form and need friendships, romances and business partnerships based on old-fashioned criteria. When our trust is abused or we are unfairly treated, we see that as a major violation of our relationship and we judge the wrongdoer accordingly.

As the individuals are the cornerstones of societies, and we depend on individual virtues in our daily interactions, we can never neglect the moral side of us by barely paying attention to material aspects. If a bird can never fly with a single wing, we, individuals, who effectuate the society, can never survive with only material possessions and like-perspectives.