You are helping to select a leader for a student organization or club. Do you agree or disagree that a person’s honesty is the most important thing to consider in deciding whom to vote for .Use reasons and examples to support your position.

Honesty, the foundation of the people’s daily life, has been valued and even triggers a heated discussion--When people come to select a leader for a student organization, whether honesty is the most important characteristic to consider. Some people state that honesty will be the priority; on the contrary, in my opinion, there are some other virtues more important.

To begin with, hard-working is a more important feature for a leader. Specifically, working in a student organization, there will be a bunch of assignments such as holding a meeting, communicating with faculties in school, and negotiating with others. For example, as a chairman in the student union, I spend nearly 5 hours daily after class in dealing with relating documents in the office. Therefore, in order to give other students better service, it is expected the leader would devote himself these jobs wholeheartedly and diligently. To some extent, being an excellent leader, hard-working is indispensable. However, being honest does not ensure the leader’s ability and quality in dealing with these challenging works but only show him a trustworthy person. Consequently, from my point of view, comparing to honesty, a person who are hard-working is more important

In addition, neve should we ignore the fact that being honest is not desirable merit in some situation. Assuming when a new-come subordinate tries best to write an activity proposal, but it still lacks lots of detail and some crucial elements in it. Honest people may directly point out the weakness and downplay his endeavor, which may hurt the subordinate’s self-esteem and active motivation. Undoubtedly, this kind of honesty does not suit in the management of the organization. On the contrary, a man who experts in communication can express properly as well as letting others realize the mistakes. For example, the communicative man may firstly point out the subordinate’s diligence, not only taking care of the new-comer’s self-respect, but also indicating the details could be improved. Therefore, honesty should not be the most important value to consider when selecting a leader.

Admittedly, honesty may play a role in people relationship and win more trust from the public and colleagues. However, to be a satisfying leader in a student organization, equipping with honesty is far from students’ expectation, and there are more significant considerations for peoples such as hard-working and communication skills. In conclusion, there is enough evidence to justify my point that honesty is not the most important value when people select a leader in the students’ organization.