You are helping to select a leader for a student organization or club. Do you agree or disagree that a person’s honesty is the most important thing to consider in deciding whom to vote for? Use reasons and examples to support your position.

In the democratic societies like the government and maybe a school, the election is the most important thing that the societies are based on it. People elect a person as an agent and the agent should govern the current activities and preserve the people right. A controversial question which often raised regarding this issue is that candidates should be honest or not. I firmly believe that they should be honest. In what follows, I will pinpoint my outstanding reasons.

First of all, honesty is the most important thing in the management methodology. If people tell lies and don’t do their promises, people’s confidence in the management and leadership will be receded. The election systems are based on trust and it is not such a big deal what the election is for. If the trust and confidence will be disappeared, people will not participate in the other elections and it has bad consequences on the given society. For example, for selection a mayor for my school, when I was a student, the candidate said that “I will build a football yard for the school”. We thought that he was honest, but he was a cheater and just the election was important for him. After that, all the students were skeptical toward the election, and the mayor and election were removed.

Furthermore, Honesty is the most important for leaders in the modern era. Many years ago, I read a book about organizational behavior theory. It was written by the professor who was engaged in Bentley University and it was based on the writer’s personal experience. As I remember, he proved that with honest relationships between employees and the leader, the performance in the organization would be higher. He argued that based on social exchange theory, if a leader behaves honestly, the employees will behave honestly. By this way, the loyalty in the organization will be high and subsequently performance will be influenced by that and will soar.

Briefly, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that not only honesty is important for survival in the democratic society, but also it improves the performance. So, I highly recommend that leaders should be honest to attract people and improve the given society performance.