You are helping to select a leader for a student organization or a group. Do you think a person’s honesty is the most important characteristic for being a leader?

There is no shortage of debate about what is the best characteristic of best leader through out history. Although many believe honestly is one of the crucial characteristic of good leader, I, on the other hand believe good leader most have other features than honestly. I will address the most discernible reasons why I feel this way in the following.

To begin with, life is challenging these days, and we face many unexpected events in our life. Group also will face many hard situations during their activities, because of other competitors. Thus, leader rule is very significant to help group figure out how to deal with these hard events, and professional leader can help group to fulfill their goal. In better word, professinalisim is one of the important characteristic of team leader. For instance, I have been working in computer company for two years. My first manager was very young and he has graduated from decent university, but he was not master in computer programming, there for he did not notice minor error in his employee works. Therefore, our antivirus product did not sell well in market, due to the fact that it’s crashed because of that minor error. Consequently, our CEO decided lead our antivirus team by himself. He is very experienced and professional in his job, In other word, he is one of the best computer programmer in my country, The result was amazing, he immediately noticed many minor error coding and he replaced our C++ language with Java. After a while we gained our customers loyalty again and our antivirus became one of the top sell computer software in Iran.

Moreover, almost all adults all around the world spend most of their time in their work place, hence their workplace envoironment plays racial role in their productivity. Kind and supportive leader help employee to build good job atmosphere, because they can interact with their leader without fear. Therefore, being kind not only help employee to hire their idea its their boss freely, but it improve their productivity. My own experience is a good example of this. I had a part time job in advertising company when I was a university student. Our leader was very experienced but he implemented very restrict rules, and he liked formal relation between employees and leader. However, our company did well, but after a while he replaced with Joe, my best boss ever. He was very kind and always asked other employee to say their idea about our works. After a while we treated with him like our friend and our sells increased , because everyone talks about his/her idea in our team and some of them was unique.

In conclusion, it is for all the aforementioned reasons, I firmly believe professionalism and being kind is the most important characteristic of a good leader. This is because it improves productivity.