You are helping to select a leader for a student organization or a group. Do you think a person’s honesty is the most important characteristic for being a leader?

Regardless of the increasingly complicated relationships among modern people, honesty is still regarded as a cherished characteristic when it comes to evaluating other people. Therefore, it is not beyond people‘s expectation that someone gives priority to honesty when selecting a leader for any kind of organization. However, according to my preference and experience, there are other two factors that are more worth noticing.

To begin with, instead of being honest, the ability to plan and organize is the most essential characteristic for a student leader for the sake of a smooth progress of the student affairs. In other words, competent leaders are those with detailed plans and clear goals in their mind. Otherwise, the whole group will easily get lost on the way and lose the impetus to strive for their common goals. By making a detailed plan and carrying it out step by step, a group leader is not only capable of pushing forward and complete the preset projects but also able to keep the team members away from distrust and anxiety. For example, if a leader of English Association is going to conduct an English speaking contest, he is required to figure out the concrete process of a speaking contest, the cost related to the applied facilities as well as the assignment for each individual in the group. All of the mentioned merits cannot be gain from only telling the truth.

Besides, whether the candidate for the student leader masters the art of communication is also more worth noticing than being honest. It is no denying that the leader of a student organization is exposed to various chances to interact with group members encompassing students of distinct personality traits. Therefore,it is of paramount importance for the leader to be possessed with the ability to relate well with others. More importantly, only by well coordinating the relations among the team members can the student leader be capable of ensuring the smooth progress of the organization. To illustrate, if conflicts arise among team members during the process of crucial projects, the leader has the obligation to properly settle the disagreement by skillfully calming them down with maybe witty words and then take measures to cope with the problems.

Admittedly, it is indisputable that honesty should not be neglected in terms of choosing a leader. After all, honesty has a lot to do with obtaining trust and creating a harmonious atmosphere among the whole group. It is natural that people usually rely on an honest person without reservation. Nevertheless, it is still not wise enough to regard it as the most crucial factor in terms of choosing a leader for student organizations for honesty does not testify to one‘s ability and competence in dealing with group projects.

To sum up taking the ability of planning and organizing as well as communication skills into consideration it is too rash to put honesty first when choosing a leader for student organizations.