Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The telephone has greater influence on people’s lives than television has.

People’s ideas may vary a lot when asked about whether telephone has a greater influence on people’s lives than television has. In the past century, the advent of telephone and television has greatly changed our lives, and brings tremendous impacts consistently. Counted as two of the most crucial modern inventions, it is difficult to judge which is more influential. In the long run, however, I’m convinced by the matter that telephone has a greater influence.

A recent survey suggests that the number of telephone holders has reached more than 5 billion at present which means almost every single person gets a telephone on earth. To this tendency, it acts as an conspicuously vital role to facilitate the communication and exchange of people. With the further progress making in technologies of telecommunication, telephone becomes portable and more intelligent. The emergence of Smartphone served as a trigger for an extraordinary revolution in modern world. Taking “iphone”, the most advanced mobile phone currently, as an example, it could combine the functions of taking photos, playing media, watching television, surfing the internet, make navigation and so on in such a tiny piece, which is thus considered to change our lifestyle miraculously. Therefore, not only can telephone promote the liaison between people to be more convenient, now it also provides the latest information and even more comprehensive services.

Compared to the versatile and smart telephone, television appears much less compatible with the fast-rhythm metropolitan life. However, It is leading a cozy and light style which is obviously more suitable for holiday home run.. for example , I often turn off my phone and lie on the couch watching TV for a whole afternoon at weekends, It has become an important leisure way of most people.

In conclusion, it is apparent that television have a significant bearing on people’s leisure time, however, telephone plays a more indispensable role in all fields, nevertheless, it is believed that telephone will be injected into more high-tech elements and become more portable. Accordingly, I’m inclined to agree with the opinion that telephone has a greater influence on people’s lives than television.