Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better for government to spend money on building modern housing than on preserving historic or traditional buildings and homes

Modern buildings that surround us and support our daily life is being constructed more and more. No doubt they will become even more as the population continues to grow and as the living quality becomes more and more critical to modern people. Thus, some people support that it is better for government to spend money on building modern housings than on preserving historic or traditional buildings and homes. However, I believe that government should pay more attention to protecting and restoring historic buildings than building modern housings.

First of all, while modern buildings are necessary to people's activities, such as working in offices, watching movies in theaters, and living in houses, the existence of historic and traditional buildings to some extent is also an indispensable factor to our society and our country. For instance, an old building could record a piece of history about a country or a society. When we enter into an old house and take one step on stairs or touch the stone wall, it would recalls us to imagine our ancestors how to live in the house. Meanwhile, ancient palaces and castls can also make tourists surprised no matter they come from overseas or they are local citizens. Therefore, preserving historic and tradictional buildings is supposed to be as the same crucial as building modern housings.

Additionally, protecting and repairing old buildings is a duty of local government. Because of the current circumstance where most of historic buildings are belong to government and there are some laws that forbid people to destory or rebuild ancient buildings, government should pay enough money on preserving these buildings. And considering most of modern housings are constructed by commercial corporations and these housing are used to make profits, there is no need for government to waste money to support the building of these housing.

In the other hand, some people insist that it is a good avenue for government to spend money on modern building in order to improve the quality of people's living environment. Nevertheless, although we have no definite evidence to say that commercial companies can cover our all requirements or perform better than government from all perspective, but it is absolutely true that most of buildings we live in are built by commercial companies and most of us are satisfied with them.

In a word, I think that it is not better for government to spend money on modern buildings than preserving ancient housings.