Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Nowadays, some students state that sports and social activities are as important as classes and libraries in universities. Considering a university is an insititution of higher education, I disagree with the opinion and hold an attitude that more money should be spent on classes and libraries than sports and social activities. There are the following three reasons.

Firstly, the aim of the students in universities is to learn knowledge and gain academic degrees. If a person prefers sports to study, he could join in a sport club or be trained as an athlete. But a student has made a decision to go to a university since he is aware of the priority of study to him. It is likely for a student to spend more time in classes and libraries than in sports field and entertainment certer. Thus, sports and social activities are less important than study.

Secondly, as students have to take courses in classrooms and seek for reference books in libraries, universities have the responsibility to enhance classes and libraries. Because of the increasing physical and digital resources in recent years, e.g. academic journals, online databases, the financial demand of libraries are significantly increased. And, as more and more multi-media classrooms have been built, universities needs a huge amount of funds to purchase computers and new furniture. Nevertheless, none of universities has unlimited funds. Thus, it is obvious that universities have to spend more money on libraries and classrooms in terms of keeping students in a better environment to study.

Thirdly, it is well acknowledged that sports and social activities are good ways to meet new friends and can help a person establish connections with other people, but when one hopes that new friends or other people can help him find a job or accomplish a great achievement, study is the key to make this come true. There is few chance that one can work with these friends together until he obtains a diploma from a university. The first thing of universities is to cultivate students and help them finish courses.

Therefore, considering the aim of students, the responsibility of universities and the significance of study, classes and libraries should receive more financial support than sports and social activities.