Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.

Many debates have been raised that young people participate in their communities or not. In my opinion, I agree with the statement that young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, with the advent of the internet, young people have gotten distracted by social media, and they have no longer contributed to the society and help their communities. For instance, I have many friends that they are playing Pubug and other video games through their cell phones. Also, in my free time, I usually chatting and scrolling my Facebook page. Social media has become an addiction for young people. However, in the past, before the internet crept my country, I was participating in many charities to help homeless people, I and my friends were so enthusiastic to go out and do this work. But after the advent of the internet, it has become so difficult to invest our free time helping people rather than wasting our time in social media.

Second of all, life nowadays is much difficult than in the past. It has not become an easy task to have a job or replenish life requirements so people have become do not have time to help their communities. For example, I am a recent graduate student from pharmacy school. I am working in a pharmacy with a ridiculous salary because there are many graduates pharmacist students which their number overweigh the number of jobs. So, I realized that I am not qualified to work in a pharmaceutical company because there are many graduates so I started to take the master degree and take many online courses to get a high salary job. So, young people are busy nowadays searching for a job or improving their career. However, in the past, my uncle after graduating from pharmacy school, he worked in a big pharmaceutical company without any extra requirements because there were plenty of jobs and the economic status was stable so people were having plenty of time helping their communities and engaging in the communities policies.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement that young people nowadays do not give enough time helping their communities for two reasons, young people have become distracted with social media, and the economic recessions that have crept many countries nowadays.