Your city has decided to build a statue or monument to honor a famous person in your country. Whom would you choose? Use reasons and specific examples to support your choice.

There are many dignitaries for whom I would love to build a statue or a monument in their honour. However, If am compelled to choose only one person, it would be Sir Nikolas Tesla.

He was the man who challenged the existing conventional systems and developed the new ones especially in the field of electrical engineering. For an example, he challenged the conventional DC current developed by Thomas Edision by pointing it’s drawback and proposed the usage of AC current instead. Although Tesla’s idea of AC current was not readily accepted by people at that time. However, in the due course of time, people could see the potential of Tesla’s idea and started to implement system working on AC current. Therefore, he deserves an statue as he is the source of inspiration to many millennials who persuades them to think out of the box and thereby come with even better and efficient ideas.

Morever, he was the man of moral , ethics and integrity. He had never chased money or the fame inspite of being such a genius person. I remember one of the Tesla’s incidence wherein Thomas Edison offered him the cheque of 10,000 USD simply to bolster Edison’s idea of DC current which he refuted politely and continued to carry his research. His behavioural ettiquites and moral truly makes him an appropriate candidate deserving a statue or monument in his honour.

Morever, in spite of being a highly recognised scientist of his time, he had always remained attached to his roots by being a humble person. Many university students would go to him with their doubts. He would carefully listen to their doubts and answer their queries. However, many of his efforts weren’t recognised at that time as it was difficult for many scientists to demystefy his research at that time. Thus I feel he has not received the recognization he deserves due to which I would love to build his statue.

As illustarted above, there are many reasons due to which his efforts and contributions should be appreciated. Hence, I would prefer to build Nikolas Tesla’s statue or monument.