Your friend plans to reduce his living expense. He has following three options

1. Find a roommate to share the room to reduce costs

2. Buy fewer expensive electronic devices, like smart phones

3. Cook more at home (buy fewer expensive food items and not go to restaurants

which do you recommend? Why?

Some people believe that finding a roommate to share the room can reduce living expense. Others maintain that purchasing fewer expensive electronic devices is preferable. Still others claim that cook more at home is a more ideal approach. Personally, I believe that sharing a room with friends is the only way to reduce living expense. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, in order to reduce expense, people must nost continue to spend money on expensive items. Undoubtedly, mortgage is the most expensive expenditure among other three options, so sharing room with others can undoubtedly help my friend save a significant amount of money. As an example, I suggested my friend, Todd, to invite five of his best friends, including me, rent an apartment at the downtown of Taipei City. Even though the mortgage was extremely expensive wenty (thousand dollars per month), each person was responsible of only a fifth of the total mortgage. Eventually, Todd only pay four thousand dollars per month for his housing expense.

Nevertheless, recommending my friend spend less money on electronic devices cannot prevent him from saving daily expenses. This is because less expensive electronic devices may lead to unexpected hazard. To explain why this is true, take my friend, Jimmy, as an example. I once suggested Jimmy to save his living expense by not buying an iPhone and use an old-school walky-talky instead. Yet, when he went hinking with his rommates, he accidentally got lost and falled into a valley in a remote and dangerous mountain. Since he did not have a decent device to call for help, he got severely injured and was sent to the hospital 16 hours after the accident. Eventually, he spent more than 5 million dollars on his hospital expense.

Last but not lease, suggesting my friend to cook more at home will not help him save his daily expenditure. This is because the money spent on cooking is nearly equivalent to eating at a restaunt. To be more specific, I spent approximately 1500 dollars per month on three meals, and I once tried to reduce my meal expenses by cooking lunch and dinner all by myself. Even though the food ingredient in supermarkets was relatively cheaper, the gas price as well as the cost of utensils add up to my expenses. Consequently, I still spend nearly a thousand and fifty dollars on lunch and dinner, so according to my experience, I would undoubtedly not suggest my friend to reduce his expenditures on meals via cooking.

In conclusion, I maintain that sharing a room with friends is the only way to reduce living expense due to the aforementioned reasons.