Your friend wants to lose weight. What advice would you give to your friend and why?

I have been a competitive athlete during my younger years, and as an adult, I maintain the discipline of exercising regularly. I also know a healthy diet is the way to go to keep you body trim. These will be my two advices that I will give to my friend in order for him to start losing weight.

First, I know that a healthy diet and a decent routine of exercising are the basics to maintain and lean body. I will encourage my friend to the best of his possibilities to start a daily routine of physical exercises, he needs to start with simple not very demanding drills on his body, but eventually, he will have to increase the level to push his body to new limits. In addition, to this my friend will have to complement this with a healthy diet, stop eating junk food, start preparing his own meals. This looks like a lot of work. But from my own experience, I can tell you are not, it is a matter of scheduling yourself to start earlier in the morning to adjust the new demands on this new way of life.

Second, most people tend to think that counting calories are the way out of losing weight. Not the case, as I will advise my friend. The way out is not how many calories you put into your body, but the nutrients we put in our bodies. Let’s take, for example, an adult needs about 4000 calories to support his daily life. But he can eat those calories eating twice a day the Big Mac super meal with french fries and a large soda, and I can tell you this will not get him out of his weight problem. On the other hand, he needs to start shopping for vegetables, beans, meat, fish, rice, soups and all the healthy food he can find at his local supermarket. Slowly but surely he will notice he will not only lose weight but will also be more energetic.

Lastly, studies have proven that choosing a healthy diet has huge positive consequences on owns health. For example, the natural science magazine printed an article on the effects of healthy diets and the production and testosterone in males. They compare, for a period of time, five males form different age levels. When given junk food their body testosterone level decreased. On the contrary, when given a healthy amount of food their testosterones increased.

All in all, exercising and healthy choices in your diet are the way to lose weight.