It is better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a large city.

It is critically important for children to have a happy childhood, free of the hassles of a big city. I strongly believe that it is better for children to grow in the countryside than in large cities. I will explain in the following essay.

To start with, children in the countryside have more space where they can recreate their fantasies. There is nothing better than to run and play when you are a child, these two activities are possible if living in the countryside. In addition, the countryside provides a safe environment where children can play at their will. On the contrary, large cities have limited space, children stay confined to a house if lucky or to an apartment. The only contact they have with the countryside is through computer games.

Second, in the countryside, children build tighter bonds with siblings and friends. In the countryside, families and friends stick together, they do these because there is nobody else to lean-to, it is a way to survive. Children benefit from this hugely. They get to build closer relations with friends and siblings. I remember, when I was growing up in rural Colombia, we used to play every day after school in our backyards with my friends. Although sometimes we used to get into arguments, we still keep in touch through letters, but lately with facebook.

Last, in the countryside children are exposed to nature. Nothing better for a child than interacting with animals like horses, rabbits, etc, or to go out on a hiking trip. These activities in the countryside alleviate the stress of growing up. On contrast, living in large cities produces a huge amount of stress in the early developments of a child. Studies have proven that children that live in large cities and confined to a house or an apartment in large cities tend to be adults with phycological problems.

way of conclusion, I am in the opinion that children that are raised in the countryside are happier than those in growing in large cities.