It is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject

The world changes every minute of the day. It is fine to keep up with the news and the trends of the day or the moment., but it is imperative to be an expertised in your field of work.

First, 2000 years ago Aristoteles was consider the father of philosophy, because he was able to master all the natural sciences of that time. But nowadays, content knowledge, like science, political analysis, physics etc, requires a person being an expert on the field. Otherwise you will not be able to find a decent position in your desired job field. Furthermore, if you are not that person, the company will not be able to be on top of its competition.

Second, let’s think for a minute, not about the high up ranking jobs in science, physics, or political analysis like I suggested above. What about low level jobs, like a school teachers. Every single application for a middle school teaching position requires the applicant to have a master’s degree in the subject to be taught. Moreover, the applicant is also required to have a minimum or certain amount of professional developments per cycle in order to be considered an decent candidate.

Lastly, schools are persuing this kind of expertised with their students. For example, in math and language arts, studnets are being evaluated since early a 3rd grade with standarized test to see what abilities these young people are better suit for. For instance, if a student keeps having high grade in math in 3rd and 5th grade, he will be recommended to take the higher math classes in middle school. In addtion, this six grade student could be taking math classes with the advance math in eight grade. My point, students since early age are being profile to search a subject that they can master in order to become experts in a field of work where they could make a difference.

To summarized, I do believe that the world requires professionals that are experts in their field of work.