Your teacher assigns a project to you, and you can select the members to work with.1) choose the members who think and work in similar ways. 2) choose the members who have totally different ideas. Which would you think is more effective to work with?

It is tempting to think that finishing a project with members who have different ideas could rise the diversity of the team, leading to a better result of the team assignment. Nevertheless, from my perspective, working with people who share similar opinions is a more effective way to achieve success.

On the one hand, teaming up with classmates of a similar kind will reduce communication cost, which results from disagreements among team members. People who share the same character with each other are more likely to reach into an agreement quicker and easier since they share similar logical patterns. On the contrary, it is difficult for different types of students to agree with each other, which not only could cause conflicts among members but also could waste a significant amount of time during the process of negotiation. My roommate, for instance, once teamed up with her classmate to deliver a presentation in her Marketing class. Unfortunately, she and her team member shared entirely different value and interest. My roommate wanted to force on the finance industry and to make their PowerPoint looks more professional. However, her classmate's only attention was the video game industry, and he insisted on making their presentation more entertain and enjoyable. Eventually, their cooperation went to a dead end. They had to redo the project again separately a few days before the deadline, and their previous efforts were in vain.

On the other hand, it is almost impossible to find a perfect time of meeting for every team member if they have different personalities. The same kind of students is likely to have an identical lifestyle. It is not surprising, for example, that hard-working students usually get up early and typically do not stay up late. Nonetheless, people who enjoy night clubs and bars could not regulate themselves as strictly as other students. Taken my own experience as an example, my professor of Business Communication class trained our communication skills by teaming up six students of different personalities to finish homework. According to her, this method would substantially increase the difficulty of completing the assignment. She was correct. Some people were eager to finish it sooner while others did not want to start it until the deadline was approaching. Hard as we tried, our homework was completed in a hurry, and quarrels never stopped throughout the semester.

Admittedly, having a bunch of people who have different ideas could bring the team with unique insights of solving problems. Nevertheless, schoolwork, such as a presentation for English class or a Math question, is relatively simple and generally does not need extraordinary creativity.

In summary, no doubt working with people of similar mind is a more efficient method to finish a task because the same kind of people is usually more comfortable to communicate with. Besides, it will be less exhausting to arrange a suitable time for meetings.