Do you agree or disagree: Kids should play more and study more instead of spending time on household chores?

In this age, children’s education is on the top of parents’ priority lists. Most parents would like to do anything to ensure their children to have a bright future. Regarding whether kids should help with household chores, some state that they should play or study more instead of spending any time on the time-consuming chores, whereas I disagree with this opinion, and my

arguments are presented as follows.

Primarily, doing household chores is the first step to make young children socialized, which is essential for their independent lives in the future. For example, one of my former roommates, Zelda, was not allowed by her parents to do any household chores before going to college. Not surprisingly, she literally did not know how to live an independent life. She was not able to do the laundry because she had no idea how to use the washer and dryer; neither could she cook so she spent over 800 dollars every month eating in restaurants. What was worse, she never cleaned her room and trash was piled up, making it smell bad. Thus, no one wanted to live or be friends with her, and she was forced to move out of the school apartment after two months. If she had been asked to do some household chores on top of her daily study and playing, she would not have been such an unpopular person. Therefore, it demonstrates my point that kids should spend a reasonable amount of time on household chores instead of only studying and playing.

In addition, children’s doing some household chores would help reduce parents’ workload and pressure. In this way, parents can have more energy for the family time. I can recall that when I was in the third grade of primary school, all of a sudden my parents became occupied by a lot of work and could not get home until 7:30 p.m. While I was waiting for them

to come back, I finished my homework first, and then took the initiative to cook for them. After having supper, it was not that late, so we could have a walk in the park, watch a movie together, or read a book. I did enjoy the relaxing time being with them, and they did not feel overwhelmed with the household chores. If I had not cooked but just studied or played myself, we would not have finished dinner until 9 p.m., leaving not enough time for the family time. Thus, it is crystal

clear that children should take on some household chores on top of playing and studying.

Admittedly, when kids were young, it might be dangerous for them to do the housework. For instance, they may fall down when cleaning the window, or cut their fingers when cooking. However, parents should attentively supervise them and give them some guidance in the practice, and practice makes perfect. When children become skilled, their doing the housework can bring benefits to both their future lives and the parents, which study and playing cannot yield.

To conclude, after weighty consideration, I firmly believe that instead of playing more and studying more, kids should spend some time on household chores.